You are not logged in.

Announcement

Welcome to the one and only Spiceislander Talkshop.

#1 Apr 28, 2018 11:14 am

Calypso
Active

What's the Best Way to Use Tumeric root?

I just bought some turmeric bulbs and I've never used it before. How must I use it?

#2 Apr 28, 2018 4:14 pm

Slice
Active

Re: What's the Best Way to Use Tumeric root?

If you make anything curry, add it to curry, it gives great taste and color.  also it is perfect in Oil down.

#3 Apr 28, 2018 5:46 pm

Calypso
Active

Slice wrote:

If you make anything curry, add it to curry, it gives great taste and color.  also it is perfect in Oil down.

I have the root and it looks like ginger. How must if use it?

#4 Apr 28, 2018 5:55 pm

Expat
Active

Probably the best answers to your question are on the WWW.

It also depends on what you want to use it for. It is a great medicinal plant. Again look for answers on the web you will get far more than our limited knowledge.

As far as I know you plant it, it grows itself up to the surface and dries down, you can then harvest those corms, and use them in cooking or medicine and leave them alone or replant them, and they will go through the cycle again.

#5 Apr 28, 2018 7:39 pm

Slice
Active

simple answer grate it on blend it One or two tea spoonful is great in Curry or Oil down.  As Expat was saying it stops inflammation, that is what they say.  More than 10 years ago my old Jewish Doctor told me to eat it as much as possible.

#6 May 04, 2018 11:35 pm

Dancer
Active

Tumeric root  big claim to fame  is it's anti-inflammatory properties.

It is also being studied as  a natural hedge against alzheimer 's  !!!

Oh,Oh . I see , I see .

" Please hurry up  with the studying and keeping my fingers crossed - hoping -  that  it  is not too late for some * talk shoppers *

Losing one's marbles  is not a pretty sight. Can't distinguish  between a 'festival , a dumpling.'  or Even the hats you wear.
Horrible. lol.

#7 May 05, 2018 2:13 am

Calypso
Active