You are not logged in.

Announcement

Welcome to the Spiceislander Talkshop. We have a new look and new features. Have a look around. The site remains Grenadian owned and hosted in the United States.

#1 Nov 21, 2016 5:04 pm

charlierojas

Could Grenada receive refugees?

Hello,

I am a Swedish social analyst that studies the capacity of democratic countries to receive refugees.

In January I am planning a trip to Grenada, to get a better notion of the social, political and cultural context and what capacity Grenada would have to receive refugees.

My connections in the country are few, so I am interesting in two things here:

1. Getting spontaneous reflections from you who participate in this discussion boards.

2. Getting recommendations on people I should get in touch with and/or meet when visiting Grenada in January.

If you have recommendations, I guess it would be best to message me privately not to reveal contacts to everybody. Whereas the first issue, we can have the conversation here or privately, as you prefer.

Thanks in advance,

Carlos

www.swedenresearch.com

#2 Nov 21, 2016 5:55 pm

gripe

Re: Could Grenada receive refugees?

The Caribbean, and Grenada specifically, has not had a robust tradition of being a haven for refugees. There are obvious, logical reasons for that fact, that reality. This is best seen from the following statement as it relates even to Caribbean nationals -- Haitians and Cubans -- seeking refugee status within the Caribbean: